APEC Women Empowerment through Cybercrime-Free Workshop for Secure Online Trading in the 4th Industrial Revolution

This project aims to build capacity through the workshop supporting the La Serena Roadmap 2019/2030, which increases women's business capabilities and engagement in the digital economy and the 2021 APEC Sub-Committee on Standards and Conformance workshop on "Communicating Cybersecurity Practices. This project’s aims to empower women with the essential cyber skillsets to safeguard during online trading. Hence, the specific objectives are:

  • To be familiar with cybercrime and threats in the online trading environment;
  • To understand Law and Best Practices related to cybersecurity
  • To apply hands-on cyber security preventive measures for secure online trading

Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)

APEC stands for Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation, which is a regional intergovernmental organization that promotes economic cooperation and trade among 21 member economies in the Asia-Pacific region. APEC's goal is to create a free and open trade and investment environment in the region by reducing trade barriers, promoting economic growth, and fostering sustainable development. APEC members account for around 60% of the world's GDP and 47% of global trade. The organization also provides a forum for member economies to discuss economic issues, share best practices, and collaborate on initiatives to promote economic integration and cooperation in the region.

Collabrator & Sponsors

Main sponsors


Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation'

Ministry of Women, Family and Community Development

Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia

Co sponsors

International Muslim Women Union

Polis Diraja Malaysia

Cybersecurity Malaysia

Cybersecurity Academia Malaysia

IEEE Women in Engineering